• Welcome to RedcatRampageForum! Are you a Redcat fan? If so you're in luck as you've have arrived to the biggest and best RedcatRampage RC community.

Come join our community and ask your questions, show off your Recat RCs and share your experience!

Carbon fibre Chassis

TheCount

I have found some one who sells a carbon fibre chassis for the D/R.

Waiting to hear back on a price.

I wish i had found this BEFORE i bought my D/R chassis to make my D/R copy longer.

How do you all think it will hold up???

ozibuggybasha

Gday Im no expert but went through a similar investigation when looking at a custom bumper bar for my 1/6 scale Trailblazer. Carbon fibre is light and rigid but has low impact resistance, being a component that could suffer abrasion you may find it wear away as well. The answer maybe in carbon composites that have Kevlar woven into the mix which gives greater "bashability" (hope that's a word) but will make it heavier than carbon only. Price could be $$$

I settled on a bumper and a subframe made of 6061 Aliminium. Very stiff quite light weldable (Tig) and holds a thread well. Hope this helps mate.

chapinb

If it's an on road car, you'll be fine. If it's a basher, that carbon fiber better be pretty thick to hold up.

kur

Carbon fiber has pretty good impact resistance actually. The problem though is that it doesn't like to flex. Aluminum will actual flex a little bit, dissipating a lot of the impact force and then it will go right back to its original position. Of course aluminum can flex too far and just plain bend. Carbon fiber won't bend, it will snap or even shatter. Long story short, a good carbon fiber chassis will be stronger than the sick aluminum, but it's a one and done deal if you hit it too hard.

alfred e numan