• Welcome to RedcatRampageForum! Are you a Redcat fan? If so you're in luck as you've have arrived to the biggest and best RedcatRampage RC community.

Come join our community and ask your questions, show off your Recat RCs and share your experience!

new to 1/5 gas

jsrampagext

Hey everyone i am new to the 1/5 scale gas rc, but not to the rc world. I just recently bought a rampage xt, and let me tell you i am actually happy with it and the price, just needs some tweaking. So i have a few questions, 1 what mods, or improvements are you guys doing to these? 2 How do you store these, i know nitros need after run oil, and how do you get the gas out of the carb. 3 I have one tank through this and notice it has a bad wobble to it and mid range speed, just wondering if anyone else had this issue. Any input would be appricated

andyken

Welcome.

A mt gear plate [larger bearings] or allum plate is a good upgrade.

Get a killer b engine kill switch!

A run away 1/5 scale can be a lot worse than a nitro....

Check out the sponsor links on the left of the page.

Check all set screws [and locktite]

And order outer wears, and new rubber sealed bearings.

rampagemt

Re: new to 1/5 gas

You will need 7075 bearing holders on all 4s as the stock bearings can't handle it as there to small the 7075 holders is the way to go

jsrampagext

Ok i am planning in getting the killer bee, i have had a nitro run away and iy suxks, can only imagine something this size. I also do need a new gear plate as mine has a crack in it. I will also look into the larger bearing holders, thanks for the advice, glad i decided to get a gasser.

andyken

If it has a crack, I'd wait for a new plate before running!

I had a set screw loosen up on the shaft with the brakes on it.

Cracked the plate in half....and took the teeth off all the gears.

jsrampagext