• Welcome to RedcatRampageForum! Are you a Redcat fan? If so you're in luck as you've have arrived to the biggest and best RedcatRampage RC community.

Come join our community and ask your questions, show off your Recat RCs and share your experience!

MT trouble throttling/moving

Rc-Rookie

Ok so I am still new to not only 5th scale but to RC cars/trucks in general. I just purchased a XT and a MT both at the same time. I decided to upgrade the MT first and I've done ALOT to it already and been working on it for the past 2 weeks upgrading on it. I just now finished and decided to start it up but when I do it feels like its struggling to start moving and spinning the wheels. My XT as soon as I touch the gas it wants to get up and go. Now I have replaced all the servos in the MT I also upgraded to a clutch with performance shoes and the 8k spring is there anyway I could have the clutch on "TO" tight? or I have something to tight to where it has to rev pretty high to move? I have to give it about half throttle for the truck to start to move.

Ebb75

Did you put the washers on back on the clutch bolts correctly. I believe the flat washer goes on the inside and the spring washer on the outside.

Rc-Rookie

I believe I did I guess it wont hurt to check. I didn't run the truck because I don't want to break anything and I can just tell something is not right.

Ebb75

Sure double check the clutch. Something must be holding it back, mine is pretty snappy with the 8k clutch. Do you have a choke? is it open all the way, is the carb tuned. Does the drive line turn farely good by hand with the wheels off the ground, you should see the clutch bell spinning when you turn the wheels by hand.

Ebb75

Dreggsta said:
could you of overtightened a nut? i know if you over tighten the b/c gear shaft for example, it will be a lil more sluggish.