• Welcome to RedcatRampageForum! Are you a Redcat fan? If so you're in luck as you've have arrived to the biggest and best RedcatRampage RC community.

Come join our community and ask your questions, show off your Recat RCs and share your experience!

HELP! Carbeurator issues. 1/5 Dunerunner 4x4

Orion

Hi all, newbie here.

1/5 Dunerunner Cabeurator issue.

I live in Duba, UAE, where the dunes and sand are full of salt (no water though). I noticed after a few uses my Dunerunner fasteners and screw were starting to erode and rust (I intend to buy the SS screw set).

After 1 season, I knew I couldnt use it for a few months so I oiled it up and kept it in cover storage. Even though I oiled it all the fasteners have rusted (after 6 months only).

Took it out recently and tested it and found the throttle pin on the carbeurater seized up completely. Ive taken off the servo kit and tried turning it with pliers and it wont move. I also tried the idle pin (air inlet adjustment) with the plastic key & then pliers. It wont budge either.

Engine starts fine (lucky idle pin seized in an ok position) but both throttle & idle pin are completely stuck in one position. I cant even make the wheels turn. The mounting for the manual primer pump (little clear depressible dome on top of the carb) is all rusted upand; the top end and low end adjustment screws & hinges are pretty rusted up too.

I took the the air filter off and removed the carb. The inside, as expected, is impeccable. Looks brand new. But I still cant turn the throttle or idle pin (air inlet). Most of the screw heads heads are damaged now so just managed to screw them out, but don't think they should go back in.

Any suggestions on how to unstick the pins and remove rust from tiny parts? Can I replace all the carb screws? Where to get them? Best solution for me is, would like to get new carb screws (for the whole carb); unstick the throttle and idle pin; replace the gasket and replace the manual primer mounting.