• Welcome to RedcatRampageForum! Are you a Redcat fan? If so you're in luck as you've have arrived to the biggest and best RedcatRampage RC community.

Come join our community and ask your questions, show off your Recat RCs and share your experience!

Engine RPMs (Tach)

Zen

Hello All. I am new to 1/5 RC cars. I use to fly RC Planes and it was easy to determine the RPMs the engine is putting out. Just hold a tachometer up to prop and SHAZAM, RPMs. However, with cars, there is no easy way, or is there? I would like to tach the RPMs for my High speed, Low speed, and Idle for my car so that I can get maximum performance and preserve the life of the engine. Or am I just over thinking things?

Thanks.

The Zen has pondered.

RampageHopUps

Alot of engine builders will do this when tuning and breaking in an engine. I never see a regular guy tach'ng his engine while bashing or even racing.

Most of them use an engine tach with the highest RPM saved in memory.

Zen

Thanks for the response. just curiuos, engine manuals say don't let the motor go above 5k rpms for the first 8 hours of break-in, so how does a noob like me determine 5k? Last noob question, if the clutch is an 8k clutch, wouldn't exceeding that number damage the clutch?

Noob the Zen is.

designed2survive

Zen said:
Thanks for the response. just curiuos, engine manuals say don't let the motor go above 5k rpms for the first 8 hours of break-in, so how does a noob like me determine 5k? Last noob question, if the clutch is an 8k clutch, wouldn't exceeding that number damage the clutch?Noob the Zen is.
Nope. Disregard that "do not let the engine go above 5k rpms". As you found out if the clutch grabs at around 7500rpm you already exceeding that 5k recommendation. You can exceed that during break in as long as you are following a good break in procedure. Google "OBR break in" to give yourself an idea.

RampageHopUps

Yeah, the manual is useless.