• Welcome to RedcatRampageForum! Are you a Redcat fan? If so you're in luck as you've have arrived to the biggest and best RedcatRampage RC community.

Come join our community and ask your questions, show off your Recat RCs and share your experience!

Best motor option?

Jersey El

Im new to the whole 5th scale hobby and chose the rampage as my first. What would be the best possible setup for all around speed (i'll learn to drive it later) :D ?

Piranha2

Contributor
Someone is biased towards the ported 28.5cc, I am also tossing the idea around between the 28.5 and the 30.5 (both ported w/ stuffed cranks) and for the $70 difference I'm leaning towards the 30.5 so I can push the 29/31 gears.

Clubin

Banned
Get a 28.5, but avoid the stuffed crank. I had one installed in my 28.5 stock stroke stuffed crank the engine started vibrating very bad, turns out the stuffing started to seperate from the crank. I will never install a stuffed crank again. I read about it happening, but thought it would never happen to me, well, it did.

Clubin

Banned
mooman007uk said:
You've just cursed me, both my motors have stuffed cranks, I've run my reed ported one for over a year now with no problems but now you watch it happen to me...thanks clubin:D
No problem man, I know you'd do it for me. lol
Here is my Zenoah 27.2 with a STUFFED CRANK. Whoops. I haven't realy ran it yet, but I will it is going in my Redcat Baja

misc135.jpg

misc137.jpg

I can't wait.

Clubin

Banned
biggiecamp said:
I thought maybe as much. I'm super jealous. I love those cases. I've kicked around the idea of getting one of those "Beast" motors from Ted and CC.
Buy the case, but don't buy the engine!

DemonRC

Clubin said: