• Welcome to RedcatRampageForum! Are you a Redcat fan? If so you're in luck as you've have arrived to the biggest and best RedcatRampage RC community.

Come join our community and ask your questions, show off your Recat RCs and share your experience!

XBE rear wheel sloppy

Keith81

seems like my rear wheels are loose but the wheel nuts are tight, does anyone know if this is a common issue ???

I'm new to the xbe so I'm not sure what the hell it is wrong with it...

I know it aint normal though, they wobbly....

Deluge

These are the DDM wheel nuts, right? I'm wondering if they're deep enough for the adapters you bought. They should be, they fit on my MT hubs and my DarkSoul extenders just fine. Try taking the wheel off and see if you have any play in the adapters, or the bearings.

DemonRC

Most likely it's the setscrews in the Ramtech adapter. Mine get loose all the time. The problem is that there isn't enough shaft to support the adapter. I did a quick fix in my garage which only cost me a few bucks and an hour and a half. You need a way to extend the 10mm shaft to the end of the thread.

Here's how to extend the shaft to fully support the adapter by using a drill as a homemade lathe:

1) Get a long 6mm bolt from the hardware store and dremeled off the head.

2) Thread 2x 6mm nuts onto the end of the bolt and lock them together.

3) Insert the other end of the bolt into a drill.

4) Clamp the drill down on a workbench and use you non-working hand to operate the trigger and start spinning the bolt with the nuts. Everything should be spinning pretty straight and true.

5) Use your working hand to operate a dremel with a sanding wheel or cylindrical grining bit to work the hex corners off the nuts as they are spinning.

6) When you get the nuts down to the flats it should be close to 10mm. Work a little at a time and test fit an adapter on them every 10 seconds of grinding/sanding. You want them to slide in without any play.