• Welcome to RedcatRampageForum! Are you a Redcat fan? If so you're in luck as you've have arrived to the biggest and best RedcatRampage RC community.

Come join our community and ask your questions, show off your Recat RCs and share your experience!

Newbie with an XT here

j-bomber

Hey Guyz,

I'm new to 1/5 scale; new to gas, and just ordered an XT -- should arrive in a few days or a week. Anyway, I've read so much that my head is spinning. Many threads suggest break-in by burning a tank of gas at idle while others say it's unnecessary. Seems to make sense -- I don't recall have to break in my 30cc weed wacker. But besides that, I'll probably break it in none the less.

After that, since I'm new to the scale and scared poopless of the power, I'll probably just do some light bashing around the yard. Here's a couple of questions from Mr. McNewbie:

1. Do these come RTR, with the radio dialed, servos connected, etc.?

2. If I'm bashing and jumping, are there Aluminum aftermarket replacement parts available for the XT?

3. Can the XT be retro-fitted with the 700cc gas tank for longer runs? How long will the rig run on a 500cc tank of gas with the 30cc motor?

4. Besides using 91 octane, and special oil I should use? Are there RC-specific oils, or is a good 2-stroke good enough?

I love the energy on this forum. I can tell that the Rampage is a great choice just by watching videos and reading threads. I'm STOKED!

camo

coil ignition engines don't require special break in periods because the piston-cylinder/sleeve is not tapered like a nitro. However, the idea of leaving idle a full tank is just to make sure all parts are settle properly for when you start running. you won't see the full power of the engine until like after the 4th or 5th tank, so don't try to force top performance by tuning it, just have fun in the mean time. And about the gas.... just make sure you put good quality gas and some good oil to extend the life on your engine. hope that helps a bit.