• Welcome to RedcatRampageForum! Are you a Redcat fan? If so you're in luck as you've have arrived to the biggest and best RedcatRampage RC community.

Come join our community and ask your questions, show off your Recat RCs and share your experience!

Brakes locked up!!!

paross0214

i am completely new to rc cars and i ordered my rampage tt a couple of weeks ago and it finally came in. was in the middle of my first run, breaking in the motor, and my brakes locked up on me. i now have no idea what do to get them loose. anyone have a resolution to my problem?

yolonda21

Contributor
Are you sure its the brakes.........? Do you have the aluminum gear plate? there are 2 set screws, used to adjust brakes, near the pinion gear at the center diff, that will tighten up if you don't use loctite.....

paross0214

thanks for the help, one of the set screws is way too far. now all i have to do is take on the task for correcting to problem. pretty cramped in there. should be fun

RampageHopUps

I postewd a picture of this problem a few weeks ago. Can someone link that thread on here until I get to a real computer?

Jiver

Found it! During my first break-in tank the brakes started to smoke! After reading and searching, I came across these screws. I'll check them when I get a chance.Still on my first tank; the centre diff rear dogbone pin fell off, replaced the front and rear dogbones. The ones I ordered where longer and had the set screw securing the pins. I used red loctite to secure the set screw. Not even ten minutes into the first tank, the brake pads smoked! I guess I'll be repairing as something fails until the inferior parts have been replaced...Thanks,Gordon Brakescrew.jpg

Brakescrew.jpg

/monthly_2010_05/Brakescrew.jpg.0ac129070ace06060a56dc9cb1e9bb32.jpg

ericp

paross0214 said: