• Welcome to RedcatRampageForum! Are you a Redcat fan? If so you're in luck as you've have arrived to the biggest and best RedcatRampage RC community.

Come join our community and ask your questions, show off your Recat RCs and share your experience!

Need Brushless motor setup help Pls

captbags

I'm new to Redcat and 1/5th scale Brushless. I'm buying an XBE or Chimera EP soon (can't decide). I was going to purchase from Kershaw and get it with the Leopard 4292 1480KV. Then I started reading about motor mounts not having room to change pinions and different Motor KV's for different setups (ex Leopard 5882 1360KV).

Are these motors actually different size cans and may have trouble fitting in the car? I see some of the 1/5th scale motors are huge and, some are a little smaller. I'm having a hard time with the differences.

Bottom line I'm going to run 6 cell lipo for now but I want to change the tires to something a little bigger. Please help me pick the best motor setup with ability to changed pinions to compensate tire size.

Thanks in advance!

captbags

To clarify - I understand what KV is but just not what KV is best for this car with what pinion for which size tires. What is the stock pinion size? What size will I need to swap to Baja 5 size tires?

I think the stock motor is in the 980KV range and I read it is to slow. I assume the setup Kershaw designs sells with the Leopard 4292 1480KV is a popular one but is it best for me and running my tires from my Baja 5B gasser? The other option for the Leopard 5882 1360KV = since the model numbers are different does that mean they are different size and KV or just different KV?

Any chance I stay with the stock motor because of the lower KV and, supposed more torque for the bigger tires?

Thanks for the Edjmacation! lol

Ol' fart

7075rc.com

My 2 cents.