• Welcome to RedcatRampageForum! Are you a Redcat fan? If so you're in luck as you've have arrived to the biggest and best RedcatRampage RC community.

Come join our community and ask your questions, show off your Recat RCs and share your experience!

exhaust bleed

cordy

What is the advantage of a double bleed exhaust compared to a single bleed exhaust if any?

G

I'm no export for sure, but this is what I've learned. The bleed needs to be smaller then the expansion chamber. The expansion chamber is suppose to create a frequency that helps pull the exhaust from the motor. I kinda think it is more for the cool factor. I have never seen any one advertise any fact to support performance. If there was any gain then why wouldn't all pipes have dual bleeds????

alfred e numan

dual bleed pipes

I am no expert either but a uneducated guess - I think that the builders are attempting to exit the exhaust at places the echo- is strongest at various rpm s. Kinda like a antenna that is resonant at 2 diffrent frequinces- where reactance crosses zero. kinda odd comparison that only a ham can understand i suppose.

G

Could be??? Sounds good anyway. On the rear mount dual bleed Jetpro both bleeds are right next to each other at the end of the expansion chamber. Not sure if it could work on that pipe. But wtf do I know? Not much in pipe design that I know. LOL

alfred e numan

yes sir!

cordy said:
Alfred e numan are you a ham? I am n9wd.